Johnny Cash - The Man Comes Around

Published on Nov 11, 2021
American IV: The Man Comes Around is the fourth album in the American series by Johnny Cash

(and his 87th overall), released in 2002. This is the last album released before his death

in 2003. The majority of songs are covers which Cash performs in his own spare style, with

help from producer Rick Rubin. For instance, for the song "Personal Jesus", Rubin asked

then-Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante to re-work an acoustic version of

Martin Gore's song, which featured a simple acoustic riff that stripped down the song to a

blues style. He receives backing vocal assistance from various artists, including Fiona

Apple, Nick Cave, and Don Henley. American IV was the final Cash album released during his

lifetime; though the Unearthed Box Set was compiled prior to his death, it was not released

until two months later. It was also his first non-compilation album to go gold (selling

over 500,000 copies) in thirty years. Additionally, the album won "Album of the Year" award

at the 2003 CMA Awards. It was certified Gold on 4/24/2003 and Platinum on 11/21/2003 by

the R.I.A.A.

Track listing:
1. "The Man Comes Around"
2. "Hurt"
3. "Give My Love to Rose"
4. "Bridge Over Troubled Water"
5. "I Hung My Head"
6. "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face"
7. "Personal Jesus"
8. "In My Life"
9. "Sam Hall"
10. "Danny Boy"
11. "Desperado"
12. "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry"
13. "Tear Stained Letter"
14. "Streets of Laredo"
15. "We'll Meet Again"


Share Video

  • 560 x 315
  • 640 x 360
  • 853 x 480
  • 1280 x 720

Add to

Flag Video

Rate video

Rate video

Up next